Notice to Announce Start of Public Comment Period: Dakota County Consortium's 2018 Annual Action Plan

3/6/2018 — This notice is to announce the beginning of a minimum thirty-day (30) public comment and review period of Dakota County Community Development Agency’s (CDA) draft of the Dakota County Consortium’s 2018 Annual Action Plan. The purpose of the public comment period is to receive comments from the general public concerning the proposed housing and community development needs and objectives of Dakota County, and the projected use of Fiscal Year 2018 Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) funds, HOME Investment Partnerships (HOME) funds, Emergency Solutions Grant (ESG) funds, and Program Income derived from CDBG and HOME. At the time of publication, the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) had not released the Fiscal Year 2018 allocations for the three programs. The proposed budgets for the uses listed in this notice are an estimate based on the allocation received by Dakota County in Fiscal Year 2017. The 2018 Action Plan will be adjusted when HUD releases the final grant amount for Fiscal Year 2018. A public hearing for the Fiscal Year 2018 Action Plan is proposed to be scheduled for April 24, 2018.

Following is a summary of the proposed uses for the 2018 CDBG Program (estimate $1,780,366) and Program Income.

  • Dakota County: $189,664 for Countywide home improvement loans; $31,500 for well sealing grants; $10,000 for septic system repair/replacement grants; $4,750 for fair housing implementation; $45,500 for youth public services; and $178,341 for general administration.
  • Program Income: Approximately $400,000 in revolving loan funds for homeowner improvement loans.
  • Small Cities & Townships – $27,321 to the City of Randolph for stormwater holding pond improvements.
  • Apple Valley – $18,000 for senior public services; $140,054 for home improvement loans.
  • Burnsville – $119,603 for home improvement loans and remodel grants; $100,000 for senior and youth public services; $6,000 for support services; $8,000 for EMS grants and $11,000 for general administration.
  • Eagan – $165,447 for home improvement loans; $35,000 for senior and youth public services.
  • Farmington – $5,140 for home improvement loans; $5,000 for senior services; $15,000 for planning; and $10,000 for commercial rehabilitation.
  • Hastings – $70,957 for home improvement loans.
  • Inver Grove Heights – $90,000 for home improvement loans; $24,266 for comprehensive planning; $24,266 for street improvements (ADA compliance).
  • Lakeville – $20,000 for senior transportation; $15,000 for senior services; $66,112 for home improvement loans; $31,112 for spot acquisition and clearance.
  • Mendota Heights – $20,031 for home improvement loans.
  • Northfield – $5,000 for residential rehabilitation; $9,000 for youth homelessness public service; $44,050 for rental rehabilitation.
  • Rosemount – $45,639 for home improvement loans.
  • South St Paul – $89,919 for home improvement loans.
  • West St Paul – $99,694 for home improvement loans.

The CDBG funding will be allocated proportionally for most subrecipients depending on any increase or decrease in program funding. However, the cities of Apple Valley and Eagan will hold the amounts for public service activities steady and adjust the amounts dedicated of the Home Improvement Loan activities by the amount needed to meet the final funding allocation. The city of Farmington will apply any increase in funding to commercial rehabilitation and any decrease to the Home Improvement Loan activity.

The following is a summary of the proposed uses for the 2018 ESG (estimate $159,564):

  • $26,000 to assist emergency shelter operations.
  • $113,086 to be dedicated to rapid re-housing assistance payments.
  • $8,511 for Homeless Management Information System costs
  • $11,967 to general administration of the ESG program

Any increase or decrease in the ESG allocation will be applied to the Rapid Re-housing component.

The following is a summary of the proposed uses for the 2018 HOME Entitlement (estimated $1,793,288) and Program Income ($303,344). The percentage shares are currently the 2017 shares and are subject to change.

  • Dakota County (35.70% Share), $640,204 and $38,796 in Program Income:
    • Affordable Housing Development: $506,127 for River Heights supportive housing. The River Heights activity would be adjusted if there were an increase or decrease in HOME funding.
    • Community Development Housing Organization (CHDO): $96,031 available for eligible Dakota County Community Housing Development Organizations.
    • Administration: $76,842 for the administration of HOME funded projects and HOME Consortium related responsibilities.
  • Anoka County (24.80% Share), $444,735 and $84,589 in Program Income, for detailed uses please contact Karen Skepper at 763-323-5709 or;
  • Ramsey County (23.20% Share), $416,043 and $161,974 in Program Income, for detailed uses please contact Mary Lou Egan at 651-266-8039 or;
  • Washington County (13.00% Share), $233,127 and $15,300 in Program Income, for detailed uses please contact Angie Shuppert at 651-379-9551 or
  • City of Woodbury (3.30% Share), $59,179 and $2,685 in Program Income, for detailed uses please contact Karl Batalden at 651-414-3438 or

Written and/or oral comments may be submitted to the following:

Maggie Dykes, Assistant Director of Community and Economic Development

Dakota County CDA
1228 Town Centre Drive,
Eagan, MN 55123

651-675-4464. Fax: 651-287-8020.

MN Relay Service: 1-800-627-3529.

Written comments will be accepted now through April 20, 2018.